Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 02:01:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Adding Pictures to your message is EASY! 
While creating a topic, click on ADDITIONAL OPTIONS and then the Browse
button. Select a picture file from your computer and your done!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Incubation
| | |-+  Incubating Bobwhites
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Incubating Bobwhites  (Read 5127 times)
areadshaw
« on: March 22, 2007, 01:14:19 PM »

I am a high school ag teacher and for one of my classes, Animal Nutrition & Reproduction, we are hatching and raising bobwhites. The eggs were donated from a local (and very reputable) partnership.

I set the eggs in an older little giant incubator with a new turner. There are 118 eggs altogether. The temperature has stayed relatively stable (at the recommended 98-99 degrees) and the humidity is usually 60%.

Problem is, it is currently day 22 and there is absolutely nothing happening. How much longer will I have to wait?
JohnInDixon
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 01:33:33 PM »

Should be soon.  None of it is exact...

http://www.gbwf.org/quail/quail_chart.html

Might help...

G'luck

John
areadshaw
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 02:42:50 PM »

Thanks John...it's hard to be patient yourself when over 100 students are not patiently waiting for these little buggers to hatch!

Abby
aKirA
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2007, 07:31:44 PM »

Yea it should be around 23 days.

You can always candle them. Take a little flashlight and candel them. Should be able to see them moving etc. Good luck.
CharlieHorse
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

Northern Bobwhites

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2007, 09:49:46 PM »