Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 06:55:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
TQP Forum has a new look!  Let us know what you think!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Build It Yourself
| | |-+  really good free feeders and waterers
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: really good free feeders and waterers  (Read 3320 times)
TENNESSERED

« on: September 05, 2009, 11:33:55 AM »

First of all,  for you guys who are raising hundreds of birds this is not a good idea.  I am a hobbiest I keep only a few birds of each species, usually no more than 20 in each pen.  I have been using these juice bottles for a couple of years and they work great for small numbers of birds.  This is my latest usage.  My coturnix are the most wasteful birds I have.  With food costing almost $10 a 50 pound bag I am always seeking ways to be more efficent and to try to keep the birds from wasting any.  As you can see in the pictures these are the kinds of bottles that cranberry juice or apple juice come in.  I use them because the bottles are stronger and more ridgid so the birds can't bend them or break them and my wife drinks a lot of cranberry juice so I have an abundant supply.  You can easily adjust the feeder for any size of bird.  I use them for all my birds from pea fowl to button quail.  For larger birds which can reach futher you simply cut the simi-circular openning higher, for smaller birds lower.  In my largest single pen I have three adult peafowl, 7 bb reds, 5 silkies, 6 japanese green pheasants and three adult golden roosters.  I use three of these feeders placed around the center support, one placed lower for the smaller birds.  For all of these birds I feed about 2 peach cans of the mini-pellets daily.  In the coturnix pen that th