Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 14, 2020, 01:09:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
TQP Forum has a new look!  Let us know what you think!
42418 Posts in 6015 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Our Member's Section
| |-+  Members Pictures
| | |-+  Dust Bath
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Dust Bath  (Read 5037 times)
sam-e jo
Senior Member
*****

Karma: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 109


Personal Text

« on: May 06, 2009, 03:47:34 PM »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lkQhQwlg2Q
Logged
courtnell
New Member
**

Karma: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

Personal Text

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2009, 11:04:40 AM »

Mine love to dust too. What is the reason for this? Mine had rather dust than eat!
Logged
Reeves
Expert Contributor
Expert Member
******

Karma: 151
Offline Offline

Posts: 3269


« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2009, 05:19:39 PM »

I have dial up, so didn't look at the video.

However, all Quail , Pheasants etc need a good dust bath area. Sunny days you'll see them in it often.

I'll be posting pictures of my new aviary in about a week. Some pictures will show how I make them.
Logged
sam-e jo
Senior Member
*****

Karma: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 109


Personal Text

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2009, 08:45:49 PM »

They do it to clean and cool them selves.
Logged
Reeves
Expert Contributor
Expert Member
******

Karma: 151
Offline Offline

Posts: 3269


« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2009, 12:01:45 AM »

Not so much to cool off.

You'll see them doing this in direct sunlight, in almost burning hot sand.
Logged
mobe_45
Expert Member
*****

Karma: 32
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2009, 08:11:57 AM »

my quail dust so much they have holes in the ground deeper than they are.
Logged

Mark
LM GOA
Benefactor NRA
PF Member
LM NAHC
sam-e jo
Senior Member
*****

Karma: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 109


Personal Text

« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2009, 06:39:25 PM »

I put sand on a bowl for mine b/c my cage is off the ground and I go through allot of it,LOL. I actually ran out the other day and have to get to Wally World (Wal-Mart) to get them some more poor little things are so sad. s020
Logged
Reeves
Expert Contributor
Expert Member
******

Karma: 151
Offline Offline

Posts: 3269


« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2009, 08:32:49 AM »

I only bought sand one time.

I had stopped by a concrete place for a small ammount of crush for making concrete at home.

Spotted this big pile of golden colored washed sand.

So I bought 5 ton.

I changed all the sand boxes for my birds........and they looked at it like it was going to attack them !

They never did like it. They just moved off to the natural ground and made their own dusting area.

Eded up using the sand in concrete mixes.

Now I get my sand from a river bank near home. They like it.
Logged
mobe_45
Expert Member
*****

Karma: 32
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2009, 11:58:48 AM »

Reeves, do you treat the river sand before you put it in or is it ok to just dump it in?
Logged

Mark
LM GOA
Benefactor NRA
PF Member
LM NAHC
Reeves
Expert Contributor
Expert Member
******

Karma: 151
Offline Offline

Posts: 3269


« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2009, 04:29:51 PM »

I pick up a truck load (pick-up truck) and "store" it in my pole barn till I need it. Wraped up in a tarp.

I do not see a need to "treat" it with anything.

Some times I'll add dusting powder to the sand when put into the sand boxes.

Check the fishing regs, if there is any warning on toxics in the fish (eating warnings). If there is, choose another river for sand.
Logged
mobe_45
Expert Member
*****

Karma: 32
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2009, 09:03:37 AM »

thanks for the heads up on the fish warning. s98
Logged

Mark
LM GOA
Benefactor NRA
PF Member
LM NAHC
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.15 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!