Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 02, 2024, 10:22:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
TQP Forum has a new look!  Let us know what you think!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Brooding and Raising
| | |-+  suggestions on how to get started
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: suggestions on how to get started  (Read 4821 times)
Ranchhand

Personal Text

« on: February 15, 2010, 10:17:47 PM »

I am a ranch manager in south Tx. We usually buy between 2000 and 3000 bobs a year. With birds going for $5.75 around here now and quail farms still running low on birds the owner and I have been talking about building some pens and raising our own. We were thinking about buying chicks and not messing with eggs. Start off trying to raise 1000 or so the first year and move up after that hoping to eventially be self sufficiant. I have seen a few pens but am not sure what we need for 1000 birds going from chick to ready to hunt.  Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: February 15, 2010, 10:20:00 PM by Ranchhand » Logged
kingwolf
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2010, 07:38:13 PM »

When you start off with your own birds chicks would the easiest way to start off as they are cheaper but they wont lay any eggs till the next summer and wont be ready to hunt from 8 to 10 weeks.

But to be self sufficient would would have to start hatching eggs eventually otherwise you would still end up buying new chicks every year and if you do that it would be more expensive in the long run and cheaper just to buy adults.

As far as pen wise just search the build it yourself there are many different pens in there and the size really depends on personal preference and what you provide for them