Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 18, 2024, 03:30:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Buy & Sell Gamebirds online!
Click Here for TQP Auction & Ads
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Health Issues
| | |-+  How do you get sick and/or dead birds out of brooder?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How do you get sick and/or dead birds out of brooder?  (Read 5510 times)
skipper3905

« on: February 18, 2008, 12:21:22 AM »

Look thru the board for and answer to this and haven't found anything. Probably too simple a question but I am new to this. Have 500 Bobwhites in the incubator now. Should hatch around Feb 28 or so. I have a GQF incubator and made a homebuilt about 3 times the size. Hopefully, I have enough space for 3 or 4 weeks (in Texas so temp should not be a problem in April) or so assuming I get a reasonable hatch. 

Problem is, I can't quite see how to get sick or dead birds out or even check to see how they are doing. Bound to lose some and I understand they are flying pretty quick. The only way to access the GQF brooder is to lift the top. Same with my homemade brooder. They can pop out quick it would seem. Have them in a inclosed room but sure don't want to have to be chasing them down. Occured to me at night with a red light might work. 
wildergamebirds
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 02:32:35 AM »

My brooder barn is dark at high noon.  Use a head lamp, and, yes, a red filter on the lens would probably help.  Move slowly, clucking like a hen Pheasant, or Turkey, will calm them, sometimes.  You may be able to install a small flap type, or sliding, door in the center of the top.

When nuts are outlawed, only outlaws will have nuts, look at France.
hunter3015