Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 30, 2024, 07:08:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Buy & Sell Gamebirds online!
Click Here for TQP Auction & Ads
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  General Discussion
| | |-+  Fox? Fisher? Raccon?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Fox? Fisher? Raccon?  (Read 5099 times)
*Chicken Girl*
« on: September 16, 2005, 11:56:54 PM »

Ok, I own a small chicken bussiness and I've been raising chickens for over 5 years now. Just recently I have been having a bad creature problem. Never before have I had this happen. I live deep in the woods, obviously a great place for wildlife that enjoy a chicken dinner everyonce in a while. I have seen a fox before, and some people have been telling me about how they have spotted a fisher cat. Now I have had problems starting about a year ago when my large labrador died. I belive that she scared these animals away from my flock. So far, whatever it...or they are...has taken well over 20 chickens.
    Not only is this fox killing my chickens, it is becoming way to brave. It came right up to my father, who was working with wood..chainsaws blarring, and it grabbed 3 chickens right in front of him.
   The last attack though, I truly don't think was a fox. It ripped the chicken wire right off the cage and went through 2 stalls, getting into where I kept my 5 month old chickens. It killed 13. Yet it didn't just take them and leave, like the fox has done multiple times. It Just seemed to have sat there and shredded the chickens untill it was done, and go figure it was all my nice show chickens.