Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 06:30:43 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
TQP Forum has a new look!  Let us know what you think!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Production and Business
| |-+  Poultry Production
| | |-+  day old bobwhite
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: day old bobwhite  (Read 5398 times)
mcmopar

« on: April 23, 2008, 10:21:47 PM »

So I am just getting into hunting birds, my dog was  born on 4-19-08, english setter, my ? is to train my dog I am ordering up 35 bobwhites is there any basic tips anybody has on raising day olds? To start them out can they walk on screen or is it better to have them on cardboard? I am pretty wound up about all of this , and I even gave up deer hunting just so I have enough time to train my dog the first couple of years. I have a million ? so any help would be greatly helpful.

Thanks Mcmopar
« Last Edit: April 24, 2008, 08:29:24 AM by mcmopar » Logged
DoubleL911
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2008, 11:42:27 PM »

The first two weeks of age i put down paper towels. Cardboard will cause leg problems it is too slick.I use the blue automotive towels, they are thicker and stronger. They will role up with the poop to be discarded easier.I use 1/2 x1/2 wire on the floor. I grind to a fine powder Purina medicated turkey starter for about 3 weeks.After that they can process it without grinding. All that being said you may want to work on a lot of things with your puppy before you introduce him to birds.
Larry Lain
www.doublelquailfarms.com
CharlieHorse
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

Northern Bobwhites

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2008, 01:13:38 AM »