Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 15, 2024, 12:06:20 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search

Thank you for making us one of the highest ranking gamebird sites on the internet!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Health Issues
| | |-+  Coturnix egg eating Safety
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Coturnix egg eating Safety  (Read 4451 times)
HollinVA
« on: June 28, 2006, 08:11:32 AM »

This is my first year with quail, and I just recently had a hen die (after checking symptoms and reading the posts, I gather it was not due to disease--it looked as if she got bound up trying to lay an egg--perhaps I could have saved her if I had noticed the swollen vent and pushed it back in)

At any rate, besides being unpleasant in itself, this also got me worrying about eating the eggs--is there any time when it is unsafe to eat the eggs?  any disease that transmits to the egg? or to the meat for that matter?

I don't eat the eggs raw, but any knowledge about raw or cooked safety would be very much appreciated--

Thanks.

Hollin

Pheasant Hollow Farm
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

EST. 2001 Owner/Operator Located in Slate, WV

« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2006, 05:42:47 PM »

This is my first year with quail, and I just recently had a hen die (after checking symptoms and reading the posts, I gather it was not due to disease--it looked as if she got bound up trying to lay an egg--perhaps I could have saved her if I had noticed the swollen vent and pushed it back in)

At any rate, besides being unpleasant in itself, this also got me worrying about eating the eggs--is there any time when it is unsafe to eat the eggs?  any disease that transmits to the egg? or to the meat for that matter?