Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 01, 2024, 01:52:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Adding Pictures to your message is EASY! 
While creating a topic, click on ADDITIONAL OPTIONS and then the Browse
button. Select a picture file from your computer and your done!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Incubation
| | |-+  I'm a newbie
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: I'm a newbie  (Read 2370 times)
schultz
« on: January 26, 2007, 04:58:18 PM »

Let me introduce myself.
My wife and I live in Wisconsin and are avid pointing dog people. More specifically German Shorthair pointers.
We have been toying with the idea of keeping our own birds for dog training.
To expand on that we have purchase an incubator and have built a couple of pens.
My question being, we recently ordered chukar and bob white eggs. I will not mention the supplier of the eggs so as to not harm their reputation.
The eggs arrived 3 days ago by UPS delivery. The box was marked with bold letters hatchable eggs.
We were not home at the time so UPS left the carton of eggs on our deck in 15-20 degree weather, where we estimate that they stayed for about 2-3 hours.
There were a couple of eggs that had small holes in them and we put a thermometer though the whole in one of the eggs directly into the yoke. It was 40 degrees.
The eggs had been inside for about 15 minutes before this was done so they may have warmed up some.
Can anybody tell me what we can expect for hatch rate after being this cold?
We did email the hatchery about this, but have not heard anything back as of yet.
RedOakGamebirds
Administrator
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2007, 07:13:25 PM »