Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 15, 2024, 04:27:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Hope everyone had a great year.  Welcome to 2013.  Our monthly drawings will be starting back soon!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Incubation
| | |-+  New to this...
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: New to this...  (Read 5107 times)
atsioukl
« on: March 19, 2007, 10:56:09 PM »

Hello everyone,

I'm new to hatching and raising quail.  I have been incubating 9 courtineaux eggs in a GQF Chick-Bator (mini).  They are suppose to hatch tomorrow.  Keeping my fingers crossed.  I have also started building a coop to keep them in when they are old enough.  I've attached a link to pictures of both my incubator setup and also my coop.  Would like to know what everyone thinks.  For those that are interested, my coop is 5' wide X 2.5' deep X 2.5' tall.  It has 2 doors in the front and will be finished with 1/4 wire mesh.
I am really looking forward to raising these guys.  I'll keep adding pics as they become available.

Anthony

http://www.kodakgallery.com/Slideshow.jsp?Uc=tsah9fm.8zvgloau&Uy=-vczcfb&Upost_signin=Slideshow.jsp%3Fmode%3Dfromshare&Ux=0&mode=fromshare&conn_speed=1
jchiar
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2007, 04:37:27 AM »

You are going to need a sheltered area in the coop if it is going to be outside
JohnInDixon
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2007, 08:56:51 AM »

I think 1/4 inch wire is too small! You'll be scraping poo when they get older (not long!) 1/2 in would be better in my experience.  I use 1/4 in my brooder and when the birds are about 3 - 4 weeks old, they're pluggin up the holes.