Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 05, 2024, 04:32:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Buy & Sell Gamebirds online!
Click Here for TQP Auction & Ads
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Brooding and Raising
| | |-+  Newbie Here.....Have a pen floor question.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Newbie Here.....Have a pen floor question.  (Read 3647 times)
Randall

Personal Text

« on: June 25, 2009, 07:37:36 PM »

Hello all,

Just found this site last night, as I'm getting into the quail raising business this weekend.  It's something I've been wanting to do for a long time.  This is a massive and wonderful site filled with information.  I didn't want to quit reading last night.  I have a friend who's letting me have 60 (mixed) Jumbo Bobwhite / Wisconsin Jumbo chicks about 7 weeks old, and I've got a good idea on how I want to build the pen(s).  But, this is where I need y'alls help.......He has these chicks on 1/4" mesh floor wire, and all of his bigger birds on 1/2" mesh floor wire.  Is the 1/2" wire too big for the little chicks feet right now, as I want the droppings to go through as the birds get bigger?  I did a search on "floor wire" and found a lot of info, but maybe didn't go far enough to find the answer to my question.

Thanks for any help,
Randall
jimmurray3
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 09:28:05 PM »

Randell, Depends on several things how big is the brooder you are putting them in if it's not that big make a frame the size of the bottom of the brooder covered with 1/4 x 1/4 wire. Then when the chicks get to be about 3-4 weeks old take it out where you have your 1/2 x 1/2 perminate wire floor. Hope you understand the way I'm explaining it. thank ya Jim
Randall

Personal Text