Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 16, 2024, 05:06:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search

Thank you for making us one of the highest ranking gamebird sites on the internet!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Build It Yourself
| | |-+  Quail pens and food
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Quail pens and food  (Read 6196 times)
NortheastDude

Personal Text

« on: April 06, 2009, 11:50:05 AM »

Hey, I'm a newb obviously. I have absolutely nothing as of this moment. But I plan on raising quail this summer. I would first like some suggestions as to what seeds I should buy.

I wan't to raise them in a simple pen with perhaps a roof over part of it, so they don't have to be in the rain. Anyway I want to plant a food plot for them in the pen. I figure I could save a bunch on game feed. I would clear some land and plant the seeds now, so its ready for them.

Would this be good enough? http://www.qu.org/seed/order.cfm

These are just cereal sorghums. What other seeds would I need? BTW I plan on getting northern bobs.

I'm sure I'll be having more questions as I go along  s144 Thanks
Reeves
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 11:59:45 AM »

Pens: read this section and that will give you some ideas.

Feed: http://www.thatquailplace.com/smf/index.php?board=93.0

Habitat: http://www.thatquailplace.com/smf/index.php?board=6.0
Reeves
Expert Contributor
Expert Member

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2009, 12:08:59 PM »

slider had posted this link before :  http://wildlife.purinamills.com/GameBird/Nutrition/index.aspx

You shouldn't count on a food plot to augment your feed bill too much (if at all). The time that seeds develope and are ready to eat, will be a fairly small window.