Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 17, 2024, 07:49:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Buy & Sell Gamebirds online!
Click Here for TQP Auction & Ads
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Incubation
| | |-+  How long will quail hatch?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How long will quail hatch?  (Read 5473 times)
galaxie428

« on: July 08, 2008, 08:03:17 AM »

I have hatched 3 batches of quail now and all have hatched about 4 days late. This last batch hatched even later than that and I still have some hatching. The first ones hatched 6 days late and I had 5 more at 7 days and looks to be a couple more trying to get out of their shell today at day 8. I am new to this but this doesn't seem normal. I just have one of those cheap little giant still air incubators and my temp stays around 99.5 pretty well. I do keep the eggs down in the basement for 14 days which stays around 60 give or take a couple of degrees while I collect enough eggs to incubate.

I know 60 is not optimal but I never had issues with the other hatches. Why are my chicks hatching so late? Is there going to be something wrong with them when they finally do? How many days do you give the eggs a chance to hatch after the hatch date.

I will add that I have only had 45 chicks hatch out of 70 eggs and my previous hatches have been much better than that. I think my last batch I had 68 out of 80 hatch.

Thanks for your help.
Jason
NH/Pete
Expert Member

« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 09:03:36 AM »

What kind of quail?
Is the thermometer calibrated?

"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt."
Abraham Lincoln
slider
Expert Member

What do you mean I have to press 1 for english.

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 09:07:16 AM »