Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 05:03:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
TQP Forum has a new look!  Let us know what you think!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Health Issues
| | |-+  Botulism?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Botulism?  (Read 7104 times)
pheasantguy

« on: October 22, 2010, 05:00:13 AM »

I've been raising pheasants for approximately seven years.  I purchase them when they are 7 to 8 weeks of age and use them for hunting purposes.  My flight pen is 600 square feet and I normally have 24 birds at the beginning.  I've bee purchasing birds from the same breeder for the last three years and one other breeder prior to that.  I have always received excellent, healthy birds that are raised were medicated prior to my receiving them.  My pen and equipment are all well maintained.  I have lost some birds over the years, normally one or two a year.  The cause of death is readily apparent.  This year I have yet to lose a bird.  My birds are now 14 weeks of age.  I use gamebird feed that in small pelletized form.  I start m.mixing in a small amount of cracked corn at about 12 weeks of age.  At sixteen weeks I mix in kernel corn with the feed.  I do not have the capability of automatic waterer's or feeders, so I must enter the pens twice a week to change and the waterer's and add feed.  On Wednesday I went in to change the water and do a walk around the outside of the pen to assure that there has been no damage to the pen itself.  I noticed what appeared to be a dead bird.  I reentered the pen and found that the bird wasn't actually dead but was somewhat listless and could not stand.  The bird had no evidence of injury and appeared otherwise healthy.  Since it had been three days since I was last there