Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 12:54:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
TQP Forum has a new look!  Let us know what you think!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Our Member's Section
| |-+  Generally Asked Questions
| | |-+  newbie question
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: newbie question  (Read 3326 times)
granmahen

Personal Text

« on: May 22, 2009, 03:33:27 PM »

I am new to quail raising. Right now I've one bobwhite about ready to lay eggs and no males. So anything she lays will be eaten. Am considering buying more females and a couple of males. My run is 4'x8' and eight feet high. Do I need to put a small coop in there with a wire bottom? Then let them out during the day? How about nesting boxes? s85
greyghost
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2009, 04:15:33 PM »

Dear Granmahen, your run sounds big enough. Giving the birds a place to get out of the rain will make you feel better, but I doubt your birds are smart enought to figure it out. You can leave them out all the time, they are very tough birds. If you are not going to incubate the eggs then yes, can certainly build nesting boxes. One more thought, if  you do put more birds in with her make sure they are the same size. Those cute little birds can be hard on each other. Good luck and have fun. Ghost.
kingwolf
Expert Member

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2009, 07:29:25 PM »