Website Main Page
Forum Main Page

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 17, 2024, 11:37:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Adding Pictures to your message is EASY! 
While creating a topic, click on ADDITIONAL OPTIONS and then the Browse
button. Select a picture file from your computer and your done!
42420 Posts in 6016 Topics by 2375 Members
Latest Member: jg102
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  That Quail Place Forum
|-+  Raising Gamebirds
| |-+  Brooding and Raising
| | |-+  quail have layed eggs
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: quail have layed eggs  (Read 10560 times)
rshaskinini

Personal Text

« on: May 12, 2009, 05:01:54 AM »

Hi, I have a pair of Chinese Painted Quails and the hen has recently layed five eggs. Can you tell me if the hen will feed her chicks if they eventually hatch please?

They live in an outside aviary with my budgies and finches. I am new to Quail keeping.

Any helpful tips would be gratefully received. Thanks. Ron
sam-e jo

Personal Text

« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 02:09:34 PM »

The chicks will eat on there own, the mother will show them how to peck at there food. They are not like song birds that have to be fed by there mother, they are more like chickens when it comes to the babys,LOL. Is she sitting on the eggs, I herd most quail will not hatch there eggs in captivity though I think some will.
rshaskinini

Personal Text

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2009, 11:41:54 AM »

Hi, Thanks for the reply. She isnt sitting on the eggs yet. I heard they usually dont sit on their eggs too. Fingers crossed she will!!

I suppose I could eventually get an incubator. Do you know of a make-shift incubator? They are very expensive to purchase.

Thanks very much for your help.
sam-e jo

Personal Text

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 01:56:28 PM »